Duncan’s Economic Blog

Interesting reading on economics, foreign policy and Labour Party Renewal

Posted in Uncategorized by duncanseconomicblog on September 20, 2010

On Economics

Zero Hedge has an excellent video (quite long) explaining Austrian Economics. I’m certainly not an Austrian, but this is well worth watching. I find I agree with a lot of it than I do with straight neo-classical economics (and indeed when working in financial markets, I noticed Austrian school economists tended to be much more perceptive of what was happening in the markets than their mainstream cousins).

On Foreign Policy

Following a long (and interesting) debate on twitter with the New Statesman’s Medhi Hasan, Hopi Sen has an excellent post on foreign policy and “double standards”. Well worth reading, as are the comments.

On a related note – Eric Joyce’s Shadow Cabinet “vote for me” letter actually raises some interesting policy points that the new leader should keep in mind.

And on another related note, Labour Partisan has one of the more interesting blog posts I’ve read in a very long time – “Blair as Schindler”.

On the Party

Gareth Thomas MP has an excellent memo to the next leader on Party renewal. His thoughts on trade unions, the need for an economic advisory panel and on co-ops are all worth reading.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers