Duncan’s Economic Blog

A Social Democratic Economic Programme

Posted in Uncategorized by duncanseconomicblog on April 26, 2011

There’s been a fair bit of debate recently in Labour circles about ‘Blue Labour’ (handy reading list from Old Politics here), ‘Purple Labour’ and attempts to synthesise them (Graeme Cooke has an excellent article on this topic, which (unusually) actually outlines some specific and actionable policies).

Personally whilst I have a fair bit of time for a lot of the Blue Labour ideas, and a lot of time for much of what Graeme discusses, I actually am pretty old fashioned. I regard myself as a Social Democrat.

So, in that spirit, I tried a few months back to summarise my own ideas on economic policy into a 1,000 words or so (plus a couple of graphs, obviously).

Nothing there will be new to regular readers of the blog, but for those interested I’ve put my thoughts of Investment, Wages and Labour economic policy up as a page – available here. Comments most welcome.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paul Newman said, on April 28, 2011 at 5:54 am

    I read what you had to say and some of it was rather interesting . More trade Unions ,a state bank etc., higher costs …not interested . More housing …well yes , less immigration , better.


Leave a Reply

